It is no secret that the iPhone and iPad use location-based services for apps like Facebook Places, FourSquare, Google Maps, Yelp, etc.
But yesterday independent security researchers made public that both the iPhone and iPad store the device’s location data in a hidden file that is transferred to the computer during synchronizations and even to new iPhones/iPads when they are replaced.
What does this mean?
If you carry your iPhone or iPad with you everywhere, it means that anyone with access to your phone, your iPad, or your computer can find out when and where you have been in the past, in some cases years ago for those of you who have had iPhones for that long.
When asked by the researchers, Apple didn’t say why the file is created or whether the tracking can be prevented.